Stay Informed

Stay informed is about being aware about emerging dangers, such as receiving weather alerts about a potential severe storms. It’s also about being aware of hazards risks where you live and work, like knowing if you live in a floodplain. There’s many to stay connected, such as keeping up with information from your local government leaders, local media, and the National Weather Service. You can also sign up for emergency alerts that go directly to your phone. If the Emergency Alert System is activated, tune to local to receive emergency messages. But don’t just rely on one source — stay informed by using multiple sources of information.

Delaware Emergency Notification System

The Delaware Emergency Notification System (DENS) is the primary system for public warning and emergency protective action information in Delaware. The system allows local 911 centers or emergency managers to send messages to the specific street, neighborhood, or larger areas affected by the event.

Register for FREE today by clicking this link to DENS. You will be taken to the registration page with simple step-by-step instructions, managed by SwiftReach.

COVID-19 – Delaware’s Response, Data & Safety

You are required to wear a face covering in public settings, including in grocery stores, convenience stores, pharmacies, doctor’s offices, and on public transportation. Wearing a cloth face covering does not eliminate the need to physically distance yourself from others. Individuals with general questions about coronavirus can call 2-1-1 or text your ZIP code to 898-211 for deaf and hard of hearing. Information, data, and guidance are available at this link. Specific mask / face covering requirements for the public and and all ages are available at this link.

Watch a live press briefing around 1:45pm on Tuesday on coronavirus with Governor Carney and state officials. Delaware is currently in Phase 2 of the reopening. Testing is available, even for those with no symptoms.  You can watch on Governor Carney’s Facebook page or on the State of Delaware COVID-19 website.

NOAA All-Hazards Radio

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Weather Radio (NWR) provides an excellent source of up-to-date, real time emergency information. NWR requires a special radio receiver or scanner capable of picking up the signal. Additional information is available at this link.

Emergency Alert System (EAS) Radio Stations

Tune into your local radio station for up-to-date information on Emergency Alerts, weather, and traffic. For more information about what the Emergency Alert System (EAS) is and how it works, visit this website.


  • WDEL – AM 1150 / FM 101.7
  • WTMC – AM 1380 (DelDOT Traffic Advisory Station)
  • WILM – AM1450
  • WSTW – FM 93.7
  • WWTX-AM 1290
  • WJBR – FM 99.5


  • WNCL – AM 930 / FM 102.1
  • WDOV – AM 1410
  • WDDE – FM 91.1
  • WRDX – FM 92.9
  • WDSD – FM 94.7
  • WAFL – FM 97.7


  • WJWL – AM 900 (En Español.)
  • WGMD – FM 92.7 (Includes a Marine Forecast at bottom of each hour.)
  • WZBH – FM 93.5 (Limited live hours.)
  • WWSX – FM 99.1
  • WCHK – FM 101.3
  • WZEB – FM 101.7
  • WJKI – FM 103.5
  • WXDE – FM 105.9

Delmarva Power

  • New Castle County: 800-898-8042
  • Kent County: 800-898-8045
  • Sussex County: 800-898-8045

Delaware Electric Cooperative


  • New Castle County: 800-282-8595
  • Kent County: 302-398-9090
  • Sussex County: 302-349-9090


  • New Castle: 800-282-8595
  • Kent County: 302-398-9009
  • Sussex County: 302-349-9009

Power contact numbers by city

  • City of Wilmington: 302-576-3914
  • City of New Castle: 302-323-2330
  • City of Newark: 302-366-7050
  • Town of Middletown: 302-378-2711
  • Town of Smyrna: 302-653-9231
  • City of Dover: 302-736-7086
  • City of Milford: 302-422-1110
  • City of Lewes: 302-645-6228
  • City of Seaford: 302-629-4550

Local Delaware TV stations


  • WPP-TV 61


  • WMDE-DT 36


  • WRDE-LD 31.1
  • W14DK-D 14

Additional Resources

Delaware Citizen Corps & PrepareDE


Delaware Emergency Management Agency

Delaware Division of Public Health

City of Wilmington Office of Emergency Management (Wilmington OEM)

New Castle County Office of Emergency Management (NCC OEM)

New Castle County Community Emergency Response Team (NCC CERT)

Kent County Department of Public Safety & Office of Emergency Management (KC OEM)

Sussex County Emergency Operations Center (Sussex County EOC)